9 Comments

Augusta Gustave Catharina de la Marche – Locating My Ancestor the Hard Way – 52 Ancestors 2015 #19

week19-theres-a-way

The optional theme for 52 Ancestors in 52 Weeks this week is “There’s a Way.”  I agree.  There often is a way to find that elusive genealogical record, but sometimes it’s the hard way!

Augusta Gustave Catharina de la Marche is one of my ancestors who married a descendant of Martin Luther. She is mentioned in Die Nachkommenschaft D. Martin Luthers in vier Jahrhunderten. Nebst Anhang über Nachkommen seiner Seitenverwandten und vieler anderer Luther, by Otto Sartorius, published in Göttingen in 1926. This book outlines my ancestors in a direct line back to Martin Luther the Reformer, my 11th great-grandfather.

Tafel for Johann Ernst Teubner (Sartorius, Otto; Die Nachkommenschaft D. Martin Luthers in vier Jahrhunderten. Nebst Anhang über Nachkommen seiner Seitenverwandten und vieler anderer Luther; Göttingen, 1926; p. 166

Tafel for Johann Ernst Teubner (Sartorius, Otto; Die Nachkommenschaft D. Martin Luthers in vier Jahrhunderten. Nebst Anhang über Nachkommen seiner Seitenverwandten und vieler anderer Luther; Göttingen, 1926; p. 166

Augusta Gustave Catharina de la Marche (“de la Marchin” is the feminine form of the surname) is my 7th great-grandmother. The only information given about her is the vital statistics – dates of birth, marriage and death. Her parents were not mentioned.

Reference  to Augusta Katharina de la Marche, (Sartorius, op. cit.; p. 18)

Reference to Augusta Katharina de la Marche, (Sartorius, op. cit.; p. 18)

At a young age, I was intrigued by Catharina de la Marche’s French-sounding name. She was born in Strasbourg on 26 April 1658. Strasbourg is in currently in the Bas-Rhin, Alsace, France; yet, Catharina married Johann Ernst Teubner, pastor of the Lutheran Church in Zeitz, Saxony-Anhalt, on 19 June 1683 at the age of 25. The two cities lie 473 kilometers apart; and, while the bride probably didn’t walk to her new home, this would have been a long journey in 1683.

Walking Route from Strasbourg to Zeitz (Google Maps, retrieved 12 May, 2015)

Walking Route from Strasbourg to Zeitz (Google Maps, retrieved 12 May, 2015)

Because I was so fascinated, I spent many hours searching for more information on my de la Marche ancestor. There are historic references to the Counts of la Marche  beginning in the 10th century, but I never found any connection of my family to this nobility. Of course, la Marche is also a place name, so it is likely to have been the origin of the surname. I tried a few message board posts back in the 1990’s, but I never found any clue to the identity of Augusta Catharina de la Marche.

Last year I learned that Les Archives Départementales du Bas-Rhin has an excellent collection of scanned church books available online. (If you decide to use this site and do not read French, like me, please be sure to check the box at the bottom of the page so you can proceed. You are accepting the terms and conditions.) When I investigated this website, I was pleased that the records of Strasbourg were included. There are 15 Roman Catholic churches and 13 Lutheran churches represented in the collection. None of these are electronically indexed, although a most of the church books have handwritten indexes within their pages. It is literally like pulling a book from the shelf in a library and paging through it.

So began my morning routine of hunting for Augusta Gustave Catharina de la Marche over a cup of coffee. This was before an updated cable modem that was bottle-necking my download speed. At least I felt fairly confident that I could start with the Lutheran records. After all, my ancestress married a Lutheran minister. I didn’t search every day. Even when the records were indexed, I really wasn’t sure under what letter the name would be filed – “D,” “L,” or “M.” To be thorough, I tried them all. The names were mostly familiar to me from my German research. I was surprised that the names didn’t sound more French.

I had reached my 12th Protestant parish on a Sunday morning in late January of this year. St. Thomas parish had an index, but it left me bewildered. I seemed to be using the wrong index. Sometimes, it is simply easier to look at the records chronologically. I pinpointed the correct volume for baptisms in 1658. Then I paged to the year and month. Was I imagining things? There is was. Or, at least, I thought so. I was going to need some help reading this.  (Image unavailable due to copyright restrictions.  See Strasbourg, St. Thomas Parish, Baptisms, volume 250, page 160, #771)

I asked for assistance from the Alsace Genealogy Facebook group. It didn’t take long. I was in touch with expert help. Alex Bueno-Edwards responded with a translation for me:

Dom. [Sunday] Jubilate the 2nd of May baptized at home by permission of the Ammeister [lit= Dn. Consuli or Lord Consul – the Ammeister was equivalent of the mayor of Strassburg] – Parents H[err] Franz la Marche[der] Dantzmeister [the dance instructor] and Margaretha. Daughter Augusta Gustave Catharian

Godparents 1) Hr. Johann Augustus, the Prince of Holstein; 2) Hr. Georg Dietrich Zorn von Plobsheim, the Stettmeister [the noble figurehead leader of the city]; 3) Jgfr. Ursula Catharina von Lutzelburg, daughter of Hr. Antonius von Lutzelburg, the Oberamtmann of Oberkirch [in modern Baden]; 4) Jgfr. Anna Antonia von Lutzelburg, daughter of the same; 5) Jgfr. Bernigna? von Dettlingen, daughter of Hr. Meylach von Dettlingen

Alex Bueno-Edwards continued:

I can tell you a few things about this record (having more than 800 pages of typewritten notes from the Strassburg parish registers). First, she had only noble godparents and an exceptional number of them. The usual was 2 of the gender of the child and 1 other. Second, the name is definitely French and the language of the record is entirely German other than a few Latin words. The record is from the parish register of St. Thomas (I can tell from the handwriting) and that was a parish with a lot of wealthy people.

Mr. Bueno-Edwards was a great help to me.  He went on to point me to several other children of Franz de la Marche and his wife Margareta (last name unknown). Their births and a death happened between the years of 1652 and 1661. All had noble godparents.

This was surprising information. Who was this dance master who wielded so much influence? Again, Mr. Bueno-Edwards was able to shed some light on Franz, but I will save that story for another time, as my 8th great-grandfather still needs further research.

How did Augusta Gustave Catharina de la Marchin meet Johann Ernst Tuebner, the great, great grandson of Martin Luther? It is possible that he was a theology student at the University in Strasbourg. It is my understanding that they taught a conservative Lutheran doctrine there. Catharina’s father supposedly died in 1676, but this may be an error. Margareta de la Marche, Catharina’s mother died in Strasbourg in 1665 and her father remarried. At this point, it is not known where Margaretha was from or her surname, and, so, there are many unanswered questions. I continue to page through Strasbourg church records looking for clues “the hard way.”  I guess I have to admit, though, it could have been worse.  At least I didn’t have to fly to Strasbourg and search the records in person.  On the other hand, maybe a trip to Strasbourg wouldn’t be so bad!

9 comments on “Augusta Gustave Catharina de la Marche – Locating My Ancestor the Hard Way – 52 Ancestors 2015 #19

  1. Cheryl, I have also used the Bas Rhin collections for one of my lines. I haven’t blogged about the records I found for one reason. The terms and conditions are very restrictive and I believe that you have to get written permission to use images found on their site. I am not a member of the Alsace Genealogy Facebook group – but perhaps you should ask them about the use of the image in your blogpost.
    I loved this post and the hard way you took locating the records. I know what it is like to go through these records page by page.

    • Cathy
      Thank you for pointing this out. I have removed the image, but what a shame for the Archives to have such a restrictive policy.
      Cheryl

      • Cheryl,
        I had another look at their site and terms. There is a form to fill out for requesting permission to use images at http://archives.bas-rhin.fr/formulaires/reutilisation-d-images/
        I have not tried this. It looks like you have to be very specific about whether you want to use it in a publication, on the internet, an exposition, or other use.
        It also seems to me that you would have to make a list of all images you plan to use or you have to keep going back to the form each time you want to use something.
        I see you’ve add “permission to use image…” does this mean you’ve already filled out this form or plan to? Please let me know if it works out and how. Thanks.
        Cathy

  2. Cathy,
    Yes. I filled out the form right after reading your message this morning. I submitted it four times, using two different browsers. After submission, I get an error message every time indicating the webpage is not available. I sent a message to the Alsace Facebook group. I ended up with a discussion about Franz de la Marche, but no one commented on my question about the use of images.

    I thought I would wait and try this again in case the page is just temporarily down. I did try just now and it is still not working, or maybe it is working and the Archives will get five requests from me!

    I probably only need to use one image unless I find more later.
    Cheryl

    • My apologies Cheryl for not replying to this comment earlier. I did not get a notice as it was a new comment and not a reply to our discussion. Sorry I caused so much trouble for you. If I find out anything new on the images and their use I’ll let you know.

      • Cathy,
        I am glad you pointed out the copyright problem. I had translated the terms and conditions when I first started using the site and just forgot what it said. I do not read any French. I cannot seem to submit the application for a license from the online page. Perhaps it has to be mailed. That isn’t going to happen. What a shame that the Bas-Rhin Archives has to be so restrictive. I have changed the entry once again to just give the citation for the record.

        Also, sorry I messed up the reply. I think I was trying to do it on my phone!

        • No problems on the reply. I’ve noticed on WP won’t let me reply to a message thread under a post and I have to go into the side bar with the message notifications to reply and not start a new comment thread.
          As for the terms and conditions they are about the same for all of the French departments I’ve worked with. Since I’m working/blogging back a generation at a time I haven’t gotten to the generations where I’ve found French civil and church records. At the time I found them I wasn’t blogging and was not concerned about the terms as I was only planning on using them for my personal database.
          Your source citation will be helpful for anyone interested in seeing the record.

  3. […] few months ago I wrote about my search for Augusta Gustave Catharina de la Marche, my 7th great grandmother. She was born is Strasbourg on 26 April 1658. When I finally located the […]

  4. Hi Cheryl.

    I am a descendant of the La Marche’s too.

    Me, Søren Hartmann Nicolaisen (1961 Holte Denmark-?)
    My Mother Benthe Nicolaisen (Born Knap) (1927 Holte Denmark-2001)
    Her father Axel Theodor Knap (1886 (Aarhus, Denmark-1931)
    His mother Edele Agathe Gravenhorst (1852 Frederikshabvn, Denmark -1930)
    Her father Frederik Gravenhorst (1814 Skælskør, Denmark -1874)
    His father Johann Christian Lorentz Gravenhorst (1764 Kiel, Germany-1828)
    His father Christian August Gravenhorst (1722 Ahrensbøck, Germany – 1799)
    His mother Augusta Margaretha Sophia De la Marche (Born in Braunschweig – died in 1749 Kiel)
    Her father Friedrich Wilhelm Roboam De La Marche (1729 born in Sachsen og maybe France)
    His father Ulrich Roboam De la Marche

    I visited some years ago the Niedersacsen landearchiv, for a futher search for Augusta Sophia Margaretha De La marche and Hinnrich Gravenhorst.

    I did actually find some good piece of information, with a good help from Mr Lohlkner, at the archiv.
    We found this tanzmeister and when we came home from our holiday in Germany, an email was in my inbox from Mr. Lohlkner. He wrote this to me:

    Sehr geehrter Herr Nicolaisen,
     
    ich habe Sie bei Ihrem Besuch im Staatsarchiv beraten. Als Sie unser Haus gerade verlassen hatten, kam mir der Gedanke wegen des Tanzmeisters De la Marche im Aktenbestand des Geheimen Rates nachzusehen (das ist die Regierungsbehörde des alten Herzogtums Braunschweig bis Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts). Ich habe drei Akten über den Tanzmeister ermittelt, deren Titel ich im Folgenden wiedergebe: 
     
    2 Alt 2408: Abschossachen mit dem Herzogtum Holstein-Plön, insbesondere Erlass des Abschosses vom Nachlass des Tanzmeisters de la Marche in Wolfenbüttel für die Erben der Patorenwitwe Gravenhorst aus Ahrensbök … 1755-1803 
     
    2 Alt 2648: Abschossachen mit den preußischen Landen in Pommern 
     
    Darin unter anderem: Abschoss vom Nachlass des Hof-Tanzmeisters de la Marche, Wolfenbüttel, für seine Erben in Stolp und Köslin, insbesondere Akziseinspektor Johann Ludwig de la Marche, Stolp. 1746-1756 
     
    2 Alt 2739: Gesuch des Pastors Gabriel Kolbe in Krebes (bei Ölsnitz/Vogtland) um Erlass des Abschosses vom Nachlass des Hoftanzmeisters Friedrich Wilhelm Roboam de la Marche in Wolfenbüttel(ohne Datum) 
     
    Ich hoffe, Sie haben Verwendung für diese Informationen. Vielleicht lohnt es sich ja, einen Genealogen auf den Tanzmeister anzusetzen. Weitere Forschungen durch Bedienstete des Staatsarchivs würden Kosten von 16,- € je angefangener Viertelstunde Arbeitszeit zur Folge haben. 
     
    Mit freundlichen Grüßen
     
    Im Auftrag  
     
    (Lohlker)

    As my german is not the best in the world, I though got some very good piece of information about the tanzmeister at the castle in Wolfenbüttel.

    A google search lead me to this interesting website:

    http://andreas-jaeger.de/tanzmeister.htm

    So, at the castle in Wolfenbüttel, an actor by the name of Andtreas Jaeger actually played the role of my ancestor Roboam De la Marche! I was impressed. This was ancestry at its best I thought.

    I wrote to Mr Jaeger to get some more information about his character, if possible, and he answered me this:
    Hello,
     
    sorry for the late answer, but its Christmastime, and a lot of works to do.
    Its indeed very interesting, that I play one of your forefathers…
    So here are my answers to your questions:
     
    First I wonder, how come You found this very Mr. La Marche? Any special reason?
     
    –          Yes, the leader of the museum and I, we want to create a figure, that lived and worked really in the castle at the time of Duke August-Wilhelm, and also had the information of the “inner-circle” of the duke, and also have contact with “normal” citizens of Wolfenbüttel, and so we found Friedrich-Günther de la Marche…
     
    Is it able to find any information on his life, that gives you the experience to act like him?
     
    –          No, it’s pure fictionally, like other actors play other historic figures, but I took a lot of research in  the time  the 1764, and living in this time, and the conclusion is my “special tour” in the museum
     
    Do You know anything about his family/life/children/parents.
     
    –          I know only a little bit of his father: “Ulric Roboam de la Marche” was a very famous Dancemaster in Paris, and Duke Anton-Ulrich, the father of “my Duke”, took him to Wolfenbüttel, because Anton-Ulrich wants to be like the French king Ludwig…later Ulric married his wife in Wolfenbüttel, bought a house near the castle and became children, one of them was “Friedrich Günther de la Marche”, but we called him “Frederic Guillaume” because it sounds more French…
     
    We know he came from the “Marche” region in France, but do you know more, like if he could have been a huguenot or so?
     
    –          No, I know nothing
     
    Mr. Hinrich Gravenhorst is somewhere in my notes described as a person who educated the “prins Christian”. Do you know who this Prince could be?
     
    –          No, sorry, I can´t help
     
    So that’s it from Braunschweig…
    When you came next time to Wolfenbüttel, we must make a little event for the press, and maybe for the television too, the encounter between Monsieur de la Marche and the living grandgrand…son of him !
     
    Regards, and best wishes for Christmas
    Andreas Jäger

    I still need one or two links “up” to Martin Luther. Can anybody help solving this?

    Best regards

    Søren Hartmann Nicolaisen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept that my given data and my IP address is sent to a server in the USA only for the purpose of spam prevention through the Akismet program.More information on Akismet and GDPR.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.